The beneficiarius station is located south of Fort Obernburg, at the beginning of the current Römerstraße.
The administrative buildings of a beneficiarius
station with a dedication area lay along the Roman road from
Obernburg to Fort Wörth. The complex was designed according to the
The stone building measured 18m x 30m and was supplemented by a timber-framed extension. In the centre of the building there was a rectangular courtyard enclosed by a colonade (peristyle) with a fountain. The front featured a portico, behind this were offices ("tabernae"), and living, cooking and cleaning quarters that were grouped around the courtyard.
A dedication area with 160 dedication stones was attached to the complex. The original location where 75 of these were displayed could be determined.
The unusual find is unique. The station was found in excellent condition thanks to the metre-high allluvial deposits coming from the nearby Stadtberg. In spite of the medieval to modern buildings above the site, the Roman levels are primarily intact.
Built around 140/144 AD. Changes made around 200 AD, violent destruction around 230/240 AD.
Category: beneficiarius station
Stone building 18m x 30m. Peristyle courtyard. Street features. Dedication area.
Current State: Römerstraße 6a, built over.
Monument Protection: Yes - UNESCO World Heritage Site, 2005
Research: The beneficiarius station was first discovered by construction workers in 1954. The Bavarian State Archaeological Collection excavated the site in 2000 (B. Steidl). The unique features and the enormous number of dedication altars, found in situ, make the site extraordinary.
Bavarian State Conservation Office – Landesstelle für die nichtstaatlichen Museen & Bavarian State Archaeological Collection with the support of the Bayerische Sparkassenstiftung